Mt. Gozaisho

Three weeks ago I went to Mt. Gozaisho to hike with a few friends from work. We climbed Mt. Gozaisho, which is located in Mie, about an hour southwest of where I live.

I went with a few friends from work and a few of their students. The mountain was pretty difficult. In some places we had to pull ourselves up ropes and chains because the climb was so steep! It took us about two and a half hours to climb up and an hour and a half to get down. Here are some pics.

Gozaisho
There was some great scenery along the way!

Gozaisho
The water was so blue and clean!

Gozaisho
Apparently the area was devastated by a landslide last year, which is pretty amazing the rocks here are HUGE. You could imagine a bunch of these rocks rolling down the mountain and doing some pretty significant damage.

Gozaisho
Shuji, standing in front of large rocks that came sliding down the mountain mixed with mud and dirt.

Gozaisho
Nearing the top of the mountain there’s a pretty famous “power spot” where this rock is balanced on two larger ones. I was really sweaty and tired of climbing chains, so I wasn’t that into it.

Gozaisho
Looking down the waterfall.

The guys we were with were in really good shape and lacked the spare tire that sits not-so-firmly around my midsection. They RAN down the mountain. I’m from Colorado, but I was built for sea level, so that wasn’t happening for me. I jog, at best.

Overall, it was a great hike and I was SUPER sore the next day. The view from the top was a little hazy so I didn’t put up those pictures, but on a clear day you can see the ocean and the city down below.

Leave a Reply

