Goodbye Zach! (For Now)

IMG_0956
Zach and I at his goodbye party.

When I first got to Japan, I was incredibly nervous. I was training for work, trying to figure out where things were, trying to navigate the crazy underground tunnels to work, and desperately trying to be good at my job. Zach was one person who made that immensely easier. The first thing Zach said to me when I met him was, “Hey Dave, we brought you a beer.”

Zach’s exactly this kind of person, I felt like I was hanging out with one of my college buddies from the beginning. He invited me over to play xbox and drink, he literally made Japan feel like home. As our working relationship continued, I got to realize Zach’s incredible insights and experiences. He was like a brother in many ways.

Zach returned to Canada about two weeks ago to get ready to pursue his education further at a teaching college in New Zealand. He had been in Japan for nearly two years and had some great experiences to share with all of us.

Before he left we had a goodbye party so our staff and students could show him how much he was appreciated.

IMG_0955
This is one of our students Saya. She’s really cool and can goob it up with the best of us.

IMG_0953
These are two of my students Kayoko and Miho. They’re absolutely adorable and usually their classes end us with us talking about Harry Potter. But whatever.

IMG_0934
This is the new teacher Richard on the far right side. He’s from England.

It really is sad to see Zach go, but at the end of the day, he’s pursuing his dreams just like the rest of us. I can’t help but to wish him the best of luck in his future endeavors. I know he’ll make a great teacher and leader as he continues his career. If you ever read this, thanks Zach!

David

Leave a Reply

