The Ocean

I grew up in Denver, Colorado, so the ocean was never a big part of my life, but I’ve heard people who have grown up near the ocean that it’s like the mountains to them. Without it there, you’re kind of just lost.

I arrived here on New Year’s Day, so I missed the celebrations that happened the night before that wore everyone out so splendidly. The one benefit of this is that I get to relax, along with everyone else, on the beach. From the back door of Dani’s house, it’s about 30 or 40 steps until your feet are in sand. We went out last night, drinks in hand, and just sat – listening to the waves. It was so warm and so relaxing it made your eyelids fight to stay open.

It’s really comforting and the water is warm. I’m not sure how I’d handle a cold ocean as a neighbor, but I think this would do nicely. After jumping into the warm water for a swim, we shook off the sand and went to bed. I love my mountains, but that ocean gave them a run for the money.

Leave a Reply

