Passau

May 31, 2009

I lost my papers. One of which had my journal entries for Passau and Salzburg and the other which had the address and contact info for Stela, my intercambio in Sevilla. She´s going to be cranky because I promised her postcards.

At any rate, I got to Passau early today and met Chrissi at the train station, she picked me up and everything. Her situation is funny, because he goes to school in Germany and lives in Austria. Every morning when she gets on her bike, she crosses the border to get to school.

Chrissi is another native German who I met in Sevilla. She was kind enough to host me for a night as I made my way down into Austria. She was a great host and gave me breakfast and took me out on this awesome boat ride on the the river that is made up of 3 smaller rivers (this is Passau´s claim to fame). The city really is charming, the Cathedral is incredible. It also houses the biggest pipe organ in the world.

Chrissi was a fantastic hostess, and it was with more than a tinge of sadness that I had to leave after spending only 24 hours in Passau. Nest: Salzburg, Austria 80 km away.

We´re on a boat

We´re on a boat

In the lock. This one raises the water level about 30 feet

In the lock. This one raises the water level about 30 feet

Llamas

Llamas

Zuh?

Zuh?

The largest wind organ in the world.

The largest wind organ in the world.

The inside of the Cathedral of Passau

The inside of the Cathedral of Passau

Leave a Reply

