90 Days (and what that means)

Today is a very special day… Today I’ve been here… for 90 days- exactly.

What does that mean? Well first off, for somebody, somewhere, a 90-day warranty or return policy or something along those lines has expired. For me, it means that this is still the longest I have ever been away from Colorado. Do I miss home? Parts of it. Others not so much. The architecture for one is one thing I don’t miss. Spain’s (and Europe’s for that matter) is much more interesting and breathtaking. The people? I personally miss Americans. Sure they’re obese, probably louder, I can’t even say they’re nicer, but I can say that they are probably more humble, accepting, and diverse. The food? Although I have a rare craving for a Chipotle burrito now and then, the Spanish food is so much healthier that I’d prefer it in the U.S. as well (except on weekends I would definitely hit up some Wendy’s, Chipotle, or D.P. Dough just for old time’s sake, but then I’d have access to a gym. Thank God for balance and moderation.)

So aside from the fat, loud people and the food that they lovingly worship the one thing I do really miss is driving and biking. Walking is fun, and healthy, but only until your knees are on fire and your feet feel like they are going to fall off. I hope that, when I get home, I can take advantage of my car (which I finally got when I was 20) to visit some of the friends I’ve met here in the U.S.. I think it would be fun to visit Washington, and then the opposite coast, where anything North of Pennsylvania has eluded me. Perhaps traveling for me for awhile means taking advantage of what I have to see the people who live right in my own country. I look forward to that 🙂

We’re watching “Carmen” in class right now. It isn’t making me a fan of flamenco singing. They’re all singing at once and the resulting cacophony is turning me off. Imagine watching a concerto and every member of it decided to solo at exactly the same moment. That’s what I’m hearing right now. However, there is a scene in the movie where, during a break in production, the actors and actresses all begin singing and dancing and simulate a bullfight between two men. The happiness resulting from this is contagious, making it my favorite part of the movie.

To celebrate my 90th day (or “day before 90th day”), I went to the Real Alcazar again. The Alcazar makes Eden seem worldly. I wish I had someone to go with, but going alone gives me the freedom to take pictures as a please, and I don’t have to feel like someone is annoyed with my obsession with colorful flowers or animals, which I again photographed incessantly. Some of these are my favorite photographs so far. The peacocks are especially vibrant with the blues in their tails even showing up on the color-select setting. Canon makes awesome cameras, I’m glad I went with them. Anyway, that ends the blog for today. I’ll tell you all about Lagos next time 🙂 Un abrazo a todos!

Leave a Reply

