Update

Ok, so I haven’t written in a reeeeaaaly long time, and I apologize. For that, I am going to make this blog extra long, just for you!

Ok kidding, but I do have a lot to tell you about, so get excited.

This past weekend felt like a long one. We went out for the first time to a new club here called “Boss”.

Boss Nightclub

Boss Nightclub

Apparently its really exclusive on the weekends and they’re known to turn people away at the door. I guess Wednesday is loser night so we got in no problem. After being out til 5 am I went to my one class that I have on Thursdays, took a nap, and went out again for my friend Emily’s 21st birthday ( I will post a picture when we get a good one). We were out until 4 that night, so by the time Friday rolled around it felt like school was about the start again.

The magical thing about Spain is that no matter what time you wake up, nobody cares. There is no such thing as sleeping in. So Friday I woke up and went to the Real Alcazar, which I’m pretty sure changed my life for the better (I’ve dedicated an enirely separate blog to it). After leaving the Alcazar it was pretty obvious that we were going to be going out again- despite my better judgment- so I took a quick nap. Later that night I got a call from my friend Sami asking if I wanted to try Absenta (absinthe). I’ve heard it makes you hallucinate, but a look at wikipedia said otherwise so I decided to.

Absinthe. It doesn't have marijuana in it, but it's flavored with cannabis. Don't get too excited.

Absinthe. It doesn't have marijuana in it, but it's flavored with cannabis. Don't get too excited.

If you haven’t tried it, you’re not really missing much. It’s kind of like swallowing a glass of melted black licorice- only the licorice is on fire. Depending on the brand, absinthe can be 140-160 proof (that’s 70-80% alcohol! Once the burning stops you feel warm, but that’s the extent of it. I called it a night early and went home. Saturday night was another fun one. I don’t know what we did, but neither do you, so I can say it was awesome.

I finished out the weekend with a cough and stuffy nose, which is way better than what I expected. The absinthe was enough to make my head explode and I think if I had taken more than two shots it would have done me in.

One last thing. I’d like to take a moment to say goodbye to my German friend Chrissi who is leaving this weekend. I think I might head to Germany in June to visit her and a few other Germans. Then, I’d like to take a moment to welcome somebody new. About two weeks ago I signed a big sheet of paper which sets you up with an intercambio, basically a real-life pen pal. I got a text Tuesday morning from a girl, Stela, who is also 21 and learning English. I meet her tomorrow at noon. I will post a blog about that as soon as something worth sharing happens.

Anyway, thanks for reading, make sure to check out the Alcazar pictures!

Leave a Reply

