How I Got To Shake Hands With The President…

…Of Andalucia.

Man, if you think your life is awesome wait until I lay this one on you. Today I woke up at 12:30, ran, laid in bed til lunch, ate, and then decided it would be good for digestion to go exploring. One thing that I have yet to do here in Sevilla is see the Alcazar, which better be way more interesting than it looks from the outside.

El Presidente de Andalucia. Unfortunately also the best picture I got.

El Presidente de Andalucia. Unfortunately also the best picture I got.

Well I got there, and guess what- closed. I cried a little, but then realized that there were an extraordinary amount of (very clean) audi’s, BMW’s, and police cars outside the Alcazar. Being brave, and hoping nobody questioned me with my baseball hat and shaggy mop-top, I slipped inside and saw all kinds of people dressed up in uniforms and whatnot. I turned to a lady and asked her what was going on. Apparently the President of Andulucia was in Sevilla for El Dia De Andalucia. She said the president was inside. Having no knowledge of who he was or what he looked like I stuck around and probably saw some pretty important people (it was hard to tell), but they were dressed nice. He finally came outside and I got some pictures and got to shake his hand. The ladies around me were freaking out, telling him I was from the United States. He just smiled and said, “encantado”. Sweeeeeet.

Becca, Ryan, Barcelona Ben at a late-night Churros con Chocolate run

Becca, Ryan, Barcelona Ben at a late-night Churros con Chocolate run.

On the roof of CEA. Both of those drinks do not belong to me.

On the roof of CEA. Both of those drinks do not belong to me.

Last night was fun as well. Apparently, the building where CEA holds classes and where we had our immersion courses for two weeks has a rooftop terrace. I did not know this. When I found out they were having a party there for the students ending their studies I knew I had to go. My dear friend Sara from UNC and I went to say hello to some friend, but just about everyone else there was from Europe. We took some pictures, listened to music, and then left to help Erica celebrate her 21st birthday here in Spain. The night ended with a customary stop at the open-all-night churros stand (It’s like Spanish taco bell, only churros), where we watched Becca zing some Spanish guys who were trying to be witty (so funny), and then a quick walk past CEA to use the bathroom and say goodnight. Overall, things have been going great. I’m still meeting new people here all the time, everytime we go out, it’s exciting!

I did have a brief stint of homesickness this week though. I expecially missed my family. So if you read this, I love you!!! -D

Leave a Reply

